Posted on

The Borg are zombies, too.

You know what scared the crap out of me when I was a kid? The Borg.

You have to understand that I am a huge chicken. I just learned from my Lebanese next door neighbour that they have a phrase for someone who is easily scared–their “star is very light.” I don’t know what that is meant to say, exactly, but this girl’s star is so light that when I was a kid, Scooby Doo gave me nightmares. It’s not that much better now. I once had a sleepless night because someone described the movie Saw to me. I saw a diagram of the Human Centipede and for a week I kept turning around because I thought it was behind me.

I get tingly if I have to reach into a dark room to turn the light on.

So if you can picture a high schooler in grade nine, who didn’t go to birthday sleepovers where they were playing horror movies, waiting for my favorite show to boldly go where no one had gone before, and what comes on but

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

I could barely peek out through my fingers to finish the episode. And over a decade later, I still remember the beeping sound of the homing beacon that would lead the Borg back to Federation Space. The terrifying creatures were COMING BACK.

It was only later that I realized the Borg were zombies. Tech zombies, but zombies. They don’t eat brains, but they catch you, and you become a mindless corpse walking around with no will of your own. Your only purpose becomes to create more beings like yourselves.

Worse, you can’t stop them. Whatever you throw at them, they adapt to. <T takes a pull on her asthma puffer>

If that’s not a zombie, at least philosophically, I don’t know what is.

These are the only good Borg I can think of. No, Seven of Nine doesn’t count. I would have spaced her the second Janeway’s back was turned. Mal would have agreed with me. Best thing for everyone.

About teresawilde

Author of Young Adult Paranormals, Paranormal Romance, Historical Paranormal Romance, tragical- comical-historical-pastoral, scene individable, and poem unlimited.

4 responses to “The Borg are zombies, too.

  1. Jolaine Incognito ⋅

    Are the cupcakes your handiwork?

  2. The Borg cupcakes are too beautiful. And so is your theory–The Borg are definitely Star Trek’s answer to zombie fiction.

Leave a Reply

